Ceilidh Cup Report 2018

The annual Ceilidh Cup/SSS Match Racing was a “tale of two days” at Rhu this year – Saturday was sunny & dry with light(ish) breeze, followed by breezy and gusty conditions on the Sunday.

On Saturday, PRO David Denholm, from host club Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club had his work cut out in the morning in keeping a square windward-leeward course for the 3 flight, round-robin format as the breeze swung between W & NW.

With the wind settling and racing well underway, Edinburgh’s Miles Jones from Edinburgh University Sailing Club showing promise with no losses, and Ali Morrish (St Mary’s Loch SC) going well. Given the forecast for Sunday, good progress was made into the early evening to sail 24 out of 36 schedule races, with sailing finishing at 5.30pm. Meanwhile, Aberdeen University Sailing Club had completed all 8 of their races, achieving 5 wins, and were awaiting to see how other results would pan out.

Sunday dawned cloudy with light winds, but a quick glance at the weather forecast showed that the weather system was expected imminently from the West, which quickly materialised. With the windspeeds gusting over 20 knots, Flag Romeo indicated that spinnakers were not to be flown.

The final races 12 races of the round robin were completed by noon. With a clear winner of both the student SSS Match Racing medals and the overall Ceilidh Cup, and with worsening weather conditions, the welcome decision was made to call it a day. Later, Miles Jones and his crew of James Holmes, Jenny Dinwoodie and Hugh Braidwod were duly crowned Ceilidh Cup and SSS Match Racing winners 2018. Meanwhile, long-term Ceilidh Cup competitor Ali Morrish got closer to the prize, in 2nd place, ranking James Chapman from Aberdeen University Sailing Club by 1 point.

Final ranking of competitors:

1st – Miles Jones (Edinburgh University Sailing Club) – 8 wins 2nd – Ali Morrish (St Marys Loch Sailing Club) – 6 wins 3rd – James Chapman (Aberdeen University Sailing Club) – 5 wins 4th – Hector McKemey (St Andrews University Sailing Club) – 5 wins 5th – Sophie Taylor (Strathclyde University Sailing Club) – 4 wins 6th – Craig Macdonald (Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club) – 4 wins 7th – Andy Mckeown – 3 wins 8th – Joe Penhaul Smith (University of Highlands & Island Wind and Wave Club) 1 win 9th – Anthony Douglas (Glasgow University Sailing Club) 0 wins

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • RNCYC on Facebook
  • RNCYC on Twitter
  • Find us with Google

Copyright © 2019 Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club / Neill Ross
The Clubhouse, Rhu, Helensburgh G84 8NG | Telephone: +44 (0) 1436 820322 | Contact Form