Five Teams from Four Nations to Compete at Blind Match Racing World Championships 2018

Sailors from Great Britain, the United States, Canada and Australia will compete to become the next Blind Match Racing World Champions in one month’s time.

The Blind Match Racing World Championships will be held at the Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club in Rhu near Helensburgh between 3-7 September 2018. This year will be the first time the biennial world championships have been held in the UK.

Two teams from Great Britain will seek to defend the World Championship they won in 2016. The event sees the return of skippers David Brown (CAN) and Walter Raineri (USA) who took away Silver and Bronze respectively at the last match racing championships in Sheboygan in 2016.

The full line-up for the Blind Match Racing World Championship is:

Team Skipper

AUS Kylie Forth

CAN David Brown

GBR1 Sharon Grennan

GBR2 Sally Rodrigues

USA Walter T. Raineri

Craig Macdonald, BMRWC 2018 Event Chairman said:

“We are really pleased with the strength of entrants from Britain, Canada, the United States and Australia.

“The Blind Match Racing World Championships have a reputation for being very friendly off the water, but there are a few scores to settle on the water.

“Britain’s two-team entry could make good use of home advantage, but are without skipper Vicki Sheen – who dominated the championships for the last decade – who has retired. GBR’s skippers Grennan and Rodrigues will have to fend off strong challenges from Worlds’ veterans David Brown (CAN) and Walter Raineri (USA) if they are to retain the championship.

“We’re also looking forward to welcoming Australia, skippered by Kylie Forth who knows what it’s like to stand at the top of the podium.

“All in all its a quality field with lots of talent and experience on show so it’s shaping up to be a very competitive and exciting week of racing at Rhu.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
  • RNCYC on Facebook
  • RNCYC on Twitter
  • Find us with Google

Copyright © 2019 Royal Northern & Clyde Yacht Club / Neill Ross
The Clubhouse, Rhu, Helensburgh G84 8NG | Telephone: +44 (0) 1436 820322 | Contact Form